Subscribe Us

WPL 2023: Teams announced for Women's IPL, these franchises bought 5 teams

Women's IPL 2023

For the first Women's IPL cricket tournament, the BCCI has announced the names of all the franchises and the 5 teams they have bought on January 25. BCCI has made its detailed information available on its Twitter handle. This Women's IPL will be known as WPL(Women's Premier league). For this, 5 well-known franchisees have selected 5 cities of their choice for themselves. Their teams will be known by the name of the city they have chosen.

Bid for WPL Teams

A total of 17 companies bid for these 5 teams, out of which 7 IPL franchises were also included. Out of these, 3 IPL franchises and 2 other companies were successful in buying the teams by placing the highest bids. According to the BCCI, Adani Sportsline acquired the rights of the Ahmedabad team by paying a price of Rs 1289 crore. While MI's proprietary company India Win Sports named the Mumbai team for Rs 912.99 crore.

RCB,Lucknow and Delhi Took part

Apart from this, Royal Challengers Sports has paid a total price of Rs 901 crores to get the ownership rights of the Bengaluru team. On the other hand, JSW GMR Sports, the company that owns DC, bought the Delhi team for 810 crores. So on the other hand, Capri Global paid a price of Rs 757 crores to buy the Lucknow team.

Format of Women's Premier league 2023

According to the information received, 22 matches will be played in the first 3 seasons i.e. from 2023 to 2025. Every team will get a chance to play each other twice in the league stage of WPL. After this, the top team in the point table will directly reach the final. While the second and third placed teams in the league will play eliminators to become the second team to play the final.

Women's IPL Auction 2023

At the same time, it is expected that a window will be kept for the women's IPL in the month of March. The number of matches in WPL will be increased from 2026 season. Then there can be 33 matches. It is believed that the first women's IPL will be organized in March this year. For this, the players' auction is expected to be held next month.

Franchises, their teams and their bids for WPL

1. Adani Sportsline Pvt. Ltd

Ahmedabad - 1289 crores

2. Indiawin Sports Pvt. Ltd

Mumbai - 912.99 crores

3. Royal Challengers Sports Pvt. Ltd

Bengaluru - 901 crores

4. JSW GMR Cricket Pvt. Ltd

Delhi - 810 crores

5. Capri Global Holdings Pvt. Ltd

Lucknow - 757 crores

Post a Comment


Join Telegram Channel

Join A2Z Updates Latest Jobs, Latest Movies, Results, Admit Card and more updated News.